Nearly entire state under a heat advisory on Saturday

Nearly the entire state, and the entire KJLU listening area, will be under a heat advisory Saturday.

The National Weather Service has issued a heat advisory from 11:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Saturday for several counties. They include Cole, Boone, Callaway, Osage, Moniteau, Audrain, Montgomery, Gasconade, Crawford and Franklin Counties. Heat index values of 110 are expected. The advisory also covers Randolph, Saline, Pettis and Cooper Counties, where heat index values of 108 are expected.

The heat advisory for Benton, Miller, Morgan, Maries, Camden, Pulaski, Phelps, Dallas, and Laclede Counties will be in effect from 1:00 in the afternoon until 9:00 at night Saturday. Heat index values of 107 are expected.

Crawford County is under a heat advisory from 1:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. today and from 1:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Saturday.

Only a handful of counties in southeast Missouri are exempt from the advisory.