Two incumbents retain seats on Jefferson City Council and Lake Ozark gets a new mayor

Here’s a brief rundown of several mid-Missouri elections:

For the Jefferson City Council race, incumbents Laura Ward and Mark Schreiber retained their seats, while Scott Spencer took Ward 3 and Derrick Spicer won Ward 4.

In Cole County, voters approved the continuance of the county’s half-cent capital improvement sales tax to fund road and bridge projects. 

In the Lake area, Miller County voters approved a new sales tax to fund law enforcement.  And write-in candidate Dennis Newberry is now the new mayor of Lake Ozark.  Voters there also decided to turn down extending the term lengths of elected officials to four years.